Popular Posts

Shabby Apple Jersey Dress Review & Giveaway

Posted by Tara Burner 149 comments


I’m normally not a big wearer of dresses though the El Dorado from Shabby Apple was comfy and I actually could wear it and function like a normal person!

It’s soft, comfy and casual enough that high heels aren’t required (a plus for me! unless you want to see me fall on my face!)
The accent work at the hip/waist is slimming and flattering without being obnoxious. (yes sometimes clothes can be obnoxious!)
I, of course, love the color…works well with my tan.

A swath of soft jersey gathers at the hip for a twist on the comfy day dress in El Dorado.
The cayenne colored frock features a v-neckline and elbow length sleeves, with a knee-length circle skirt.
Effortlessly comfortable and chic on its own, or dolled up with a shrunken blazer and boots for cooler weather, this dress will soon be traveling with you wherever your next adventure takes you.

I decided to put on the ole’ boots and take the circle skirt for a whirl!
The skirt part really does swirl waaaay out but hard to get the timing right when you’re using a self timer and not wanting to make yourself dizzy spinning in circles in the hallway!

One thing to note, this dress does run big so you’ll want to order a size smaller than usual.
And, just my type of care…machine wash cold and hang to dry.
Whohoooooo no dry clean, no ironing…wash and hang to dry! works for me any day of the week.

One other thing, the site says the dress hits below the knees…
which it did on me so the model in the pic must be taller than normal because it shows it above her knees…just an FYI.


One winner will win the same El Dorado dress as reviewed here.
Contest open until May 26, 2012 11:59 p.m.
Winner will be announced on May 27, 2012 via email.
Winner has 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.
Open to US Residents only

Mandatory Entry
Visit the site and come back and comment on what item you’d like to try.

Additional Entries:
For each thing you do here, you must put it in a new comment for it to count as an entry.
Please do not combine things you do or it’ll only count as one entry in the contest.

Like Shabby Apple on Facebook
Follow @shabbyapple on Twitter

Copy & paste this tweet, then when you’re done, come back and comment with the link of your tweet
Enter to #win the El Dorado Jersey Dress http://wp.me/p1XoKe-3t6 @shabbyapple @taraburner #dress #giveaways #fashion

Follow me on Twitter
Friend me on Facebook
Give @taraburner Klout
Sub to this blog via RSS Feed
Follow me on Tumblr
Follow me on Pinterest
Connect with me on Posterous
Add me to your circles on Google+

Sign up for the free Balancing Healthy Body, Mind, Soul online paper
Like Tara’s fitness page on Facebook
Subscribe to my YouTube channel

*Disclaimer*
I received the product above for the purpose of reviewing. The thoughts and opinions in this blog are mine and unbiased.
I am not responsible for shipment of giveaway item. It will be shipped from the company itself.

Pin It
If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.
149 Comments
May 19, 2012
6:43 pm
#1 Yeny :

I liked SA on FB!

May 19, 2012
6:44 pm
#2 Yeny :

I follow SA on Twitter! yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:45 pm
#3 Yeny :

I follow you on Twitter! yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:45 pm
#4 Erika :

I would love the Coco Bean dress!

May 19, 2012
6:45 pm
#5 Yeny :

We’re friends on FAcebook! yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:46 pm
#6 Erika :

I liked them on FB!

May 19, 2012
6:46 pm
#7 Yeny :

I gave you Klout on Fitness! yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:46 pm
#8 Erika :

I follow them on Twitter!

May 19, 2012
6:48 pm
#9 Yeny :

I subbed to this blog via RSS Feed on Google Reader. yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:49 pm
#10 Erika :

I follow you on Twitter!

May 19, 2012
6:50 pm
#11 Yeny :

I follow you on Pinterest! yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:50 pm
#12 Yeny :

I follow you on Google Plus. yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:53 pm
#14 Yeny :

I liked your facebook page. :) yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:54 pm
#15 Yeny :

I am subscribed to your youtube channel! yestfl@hotmail.com

May 19, 2012
6:55 pm
#16 rebeca :

i loved the beauty mark dress

May 19, 2012
6:56 pm
#17 rebeca :

im ur friend

May 19, 2012
6:56 pm
#18 rebeca :

love their dresses very retro.

May 19, 2012
6:58 pm
#19 Joey M :

I liked Shabby Apple on Facebook. engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
6:59 pm
#20 Joey M :

I follow Shabby Apple on Twitter! engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:00 pm
#21 Joey M :

I follow you on Twitter! engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:00 pm
#22 Joey M :

I am your friend on Facebook! engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:01 pm
#23 Joey M :

I liked your FB page! engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:02 pm
#24 Joey M :

I am a subscriber to your YT channel! engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:02 pm
#25 Joey M :

I follow you on G+ as Joy Maestas engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:04 pm
#26 Joey M :

I follow you on Pinterest. engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:05 pm
#27 Joey M :

I am subscribed to RSS on Google Reader. engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:08 pm
#28 Joey M :

I gave you Klout on Running! engineergirl@mail.com

May 19, 2012
7:14 pm
#29 vegAnn :

The Peach Rose Statement Ring is so pretty

May 19, 2012
7:14 pm
#30 vegAnn :

I follow Shabby Apple on twitter @coniecone

May 19, 2012
7:15 pm
#31 vegAnn :

I follow you on twitter @coniecone

May 19, 2012
7:16 pm
May 19, 2012
7:40 pm
#34 shakantala :

I love the Blue Eyes dress!

May 19, 2012
7:41 pm
#35 KELLY STEARNS :

the Bon Voyage dress

May 19, 2012
7:41 pm
#36 shakantala :

I just liked Shabby Apple on Facebook!

May 19, 2012
8:40 pm
#37 jen :

Conservatory Garden

what a cute dress!!! and it has pockets! woot!

May 19, 2012
9:47 pm
#38 RunInBoise :

I like the Azure Coast dress but the El Dorado I like too.

May 19, 2012
10:26 pm
#39 Chelsea :

I love Summer Wind

May 19, 2012
10:27 pm
#40 Chelsea :

I liked shabby apple on facebook

May 19, 2012
10:27 pm
#41 Chelsea :

I follow shabby apple on twitter

May 19, 2012
11:11 pm
#42 britt t :

i would so love to try the Frabjous Day dress if they had my size in stock! SOoo cute!

May 19, 2012
11:12 pm
#43 britt t :

i LIKE shabby apple on facebook!

May 19, 2012
11:12 pm
#44 britt t :

i follow shabby apple on twitter via littlequeen114

May 19, 2012
11:13 pm
#45 britt t :

i friended you on facebook under the name Brittany Trevino

May 19, 2012
11:14 pm
#46 britt t :

i follow you on twitter via littlequeen114

May 19, 2012
11:15 pm
#47 britt t :

i follow you on pinterest under my username punkybrewster3

May 19, 2012
11:16 pm
#48 britt t :

i subscribe to you on google reader

May 19, 2012
11:17 pm
May 19, 2012
11:18 pm
#50 britt t :

i subscribe to your youtube channel as velmadoo14

May 19, 2012
11:19 pm
#51 britt t :

i LIKE your fitness page on facebook! :)

May 19, 2012
11:48 pm

I love the “With Honors” dress on the website!

May 19, 2012
11:49 pm

I follow you as @floptimism on Twitter

May 19, 2012
11:50 pm

I subscribed to your RSS feed

May 19, 2012
11:50 pm

I follow you on Pinterest as Floptimism

May 19, 2012
11:51 pm

I like your page on FB as Floptimism

May 19, 2012
11:52 pm

I gave you a +k for Fitness

May 19, 2012
11:53 pm

I like Shabby Apple on FB as Jessica Serdikoff

May 19, 2012
11:57 pm

I follow Shabby Apple on Twitter as @petitanana

May 20, 2012
12:42 am
#60 gina :

i love the alice dress in the mad hatter collection! :) I also would love to try the el dorado dress;)
gina

May 20, 2012
12:43 am
#61 gina :

i like shabby apple on fb;)
gina

May 20, 2012
12:43 am
#62 gina :

i follow the shabby apple on twitter;)
gina

May 20, 2012
1:40 am

I love the Ming dress!

May 20, 2012
1:41 am

I follow you on Twitter!

May 20, 2012
2:19 am

Ohmigosh! So hard to decide! I loved so many collections but definitely the vintage swimwear from the stardust collection and aintree from the sidesaddle collection! Gorgeous!

May 20, 2012
2:21 am

I liked Shabby Apple on facebook

May 20, 2012
2:22 am

I follow you on twitter!

May 20, 2012
2:23 am

I follow your pins!

May 20, 2012
4:23 am

That dress looks absolutely gorgeous on you. The color, the cut, the accent, the boots with it – fabulous. I hope you get a chance to go somewhere fun in that outfit, ’cause you are the bomb!

May 20, 2012
4:57 am
#70 April G :

I almost bought this dress in the green from SA a few weeks ago! I wasn’t sure how it would look on a non-model though. You rock this though, and I’m glad to see it’s even cuter than I imagined. :D I also love the Phi Betta Kappa from Shabby Apple.

May 20, 2012
4:57 am
#71 April G :

I like Shabby Apple on Facebook.

May 20, 2012
4:58 am
#72 April G :

I follow Shabby Apple on twitter as @irishmarmalade

May 20, 2012
4:06 pm
#74 Rachel :

I love their Lois lane dress!!!!

Rachelmarietravis at gmail dot com

May 20, 2012
4:07 pm
#75 Rachel :

I like shabby apple on fb

Rachelmarietravis at gmail dot com

May 20, 2012
4:07 pm
#76 Rachel :

I follow shabby apple on twitter @markandrachel

Rachelmarietravis at gmail dot com

May 20, 2012
4:56 pm
#77 Jamie Walker :

I’d love to try the Stardust Collection Sweet Spot swimsuit…though not sure I can actually pull a one piece off…hmmm ;)

May 20, 2012
5:00 pm
#78 Jamie Walker :

I like Shabby Apple on Facebook

May 20, 2012
5:00 pm
#79 Jamie Walker :

I Tweeted about the giveaway: Enter to #win the El Dorado Jersey Dress http://wp.me/p1XoKe-3t6 @shabbyapple @taraburner #dress #giveaways #fashion #SweatPink

May 20, 2012
5:01 pm
#80 Jamie Walker :

I follow Shabby Apple on Twitter

May 20, 2012
5:01 pm
#81 Jamie Walker :

I follow you on Twitter

May 20, 2012
5:02 pm
#82 Jamie Walker :

I like you on Facebook

May 21, 2012
12:43 am

This was awesome…would look great with that dress too!

May 21, 2012
12:45 am

http://www.shabbyapple.com/p-1046-terra-necklace.aspx This is awesome and will buy this to match the dress is I win! =)

May 21, 2012
12:45 am

I follow Shabby Apple on Twitter

May 21, 2012
12:46 am

I follow you on Twitter!

May 21, 2012
12:47 am

I Like Shabby Apple on Facebook

May 21, 2012
2:27 am
#89 Ruri :

I love the Study Break dress!

May 21, 2012
2:28 am
#90 Ruri :

I already like shabby apple on fb (Lui B.)!

May 22, 2012
2:09 am
#92 Julie :

I like Shabby Apple on FB. They have such cute stuff it is hard to pick. I really like the Crosswalk Skirt. Love the Dark Secrets of Wonderland bracelet.

May 22, 2012
7:56 pm
#93 Denise L :

I like Shabby Apple on fb.

May 22, 2012
7:57 pm
#94 Denise L :

Follow Shabby Apple on twitter @dmarie824

May 22, 2012
7:59 pm
May 22, 2012
8:00 pm
#96 Denise L :

Follow you on twitter @dmarie824

May 22, 2012
8:01 pm
#97 Denise L :

Follow you on G+ as denise lebegue

May 22, 2012
8:01 pm
#98 Denise L :

Subscribe to your RSS feed.

May 22, 2012
8:03 pm
#99 Denise L :

Follow you on Pinterest (denise leb)

May 22, 2012
8:03 pm
#100 Denise L :

Subscribe to your youtube channel as dmarie824

May 23, 2012
12:04 am
#101 Gina M Maddox :

I also love the beauty mark dress.
Thanks for the chance to win!
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:05 am
#102 Gina M Maddox :

I like them on FB — Crave to Save
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:05 am
#103 Gina M Maddox :

I follow them on twitter @CrazyItalian0
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:06 am
#104 Gina M Maddox :

I like you on FB — Crave to Save
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:06 am
#105 Gina M Maddox :

I follow you on twitter @CrazyItalian0
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:07 am
#106 Gina M Maddox :

I follow you on pinterest — Crave to Save
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:07 am
#107 Gina M Maddox :

I am an RSS subscriber!
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:09 am
#108 Gina M Maddox :

you tube subscriber – gmmaddox01
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
12:09 am
#109 Gina M Maddox :

I follow you on Google + — Gina M Maddox
gina.m.maddox (AT) gmail (DOT) com

May 23, 2012
10:42 am
#111 Sophie S :

I would love the Beauty Mark dress!

May 23, 2012
1:41 pm
#112 Daph :

The Blue Eyes shirt dress is spectacular!!

May 23, 2012
1:42 pm
#113 Daph :

I follow Shabbyapple on twitter

May 23, 2012
1:43 pm
#114 Daph :

I follow you on twitter:)

May 23, 2012
3:59 pm
#115 Anna :

I love the Curiouser and Curiouser skirt and love to try it

May 23, 2012
4:05 pm
#116 Anna :

I Like Shabby Apple on Facebook

May 23, 2012
4:06 pm
#117 Anna :

I Follow @shabbyapple on Twitter
frugalohio44

May 23, 2012
4:06 pm
May 23, 2012
4:06 pm
#119 Anna :

I follow you on twitter
frugalohio44

May 23, 2012
4:07 pm
#120 Anna :

you are my friend on FB

May 23, 2012
4:07 pm
#121 Anna :

Give @taraburner Klout

May 23, 2012
4:07 pm
#122 Anna :

I sub to your RSS feed via google reader

May 23, 2012
4:08 pm
#123 Anna :

I Follow you on Pinterest

May 23, 2012
4:08 pm
#124 Anna :

I follow you and added you on G+

May 23, 2012
4:08 pm
#125 Anna :

I Like Tara’s fitness page on Facebook

May 23, 2012
10:17 pm
#128 erica :

i love the el capitan dress
missyingling@yahoo.com

May 24, 2012
4:06 am
#129 Helena :

I’d love to have the Blue Eyes dress from the Twin Palms line! Thanks!

May 24, 2012
4:07 am
#130 Helena :

i like Shabby Apple on FB! (Lemon Helena)

May 24, 2012
4:08 am
#131 Helena :

I like Shabby Apple on Twitter @Melahelen

May 24, 2012
4:09 am
#132 Helena :

I follow you on Google+ as Helena Lemon

May 24, 2012
5:09 pm
#133 Donna C :

I like the Bethesda Fountain dress!!

May 24, 2012
5:11 pm
#134 Donna C :

I liked Shabby Apple on twitter (donna_Cairns)

May 24, 2012
5:11 pm
#135 Donna C :

I liked shabby apple on facebook (donna alena)

May 24, 2012
5:12 pm
#136 Donna C :
May 24, 2012
5:12 pm
#137 Donna C :

I am following you on twitter (donna_cairns)

May 24, 2012
5:13 pm
#138 Donna C :

I added you to my google circle (donna cairns)

May 24, 2012
5:14 pm
#139 Donna C :

I am following you on pinterest (donna alena/somethingfrugal)

May 26, 2012
3:36 pm
#143 Aubrey :

I think after seeing this review… I would try the el dorado dress!

May 26, 2012
3:37 pm
#144 Aubrey :

I like shabby apple on facebook!

May 26, 2012
3:37 pm
#145 Aubrey :

And I follow SA on twitter! @busterae

May 26, 2012
3:37 pm
#146 Aubrey :

I also follow you on twitter! @busterae

May 27, 2012
1:04 pm
#148 Tara Burner :

#88 you are the winner!
I’ll be emailing you in a few minutes :)

Trackbacks to this post. Thanks for the linkage.

Sorry, comments are closed.

Previous Post
«
Next Post
»